Corymbia Citrodora

“The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit.” (Nelson Henderson)

Had to share this incredible trunk I saw on one of the gums in the local homemaker centre carpark.

The car park has a variety of very tall, narrow sentries standing tall above the furnishing stores, and I can definitely recognise that unmistakeable aroma of lemon-scented gum in the air.

I am 100% sure this is a corymbia citrodora, it has that pale sunset pink tone to its smooth bark, but alas the leaves are too high for me to reach and crush – the ultimate test.

What especially intrigues me is the strange shaping underneath the trunk, almost a lattice pattern working its way up the length and creating a really cool feature. The tree seems perfectly healthy so I don’t think its anything to be concerned about, but I’d love to know if this is just another beautiful freak of nature or if it’s a tendency of these graceful gums?

I often drive past the two gigantic heritage listed citrodora’s on the roundabout near Melbourne’s General Cemetery, and have also noticed some sort of patterning under the bark, but I don’t think it’s quite as defined as this one.

The reason I’m so interested is that I just can’t wait to own a piece of land that’s big enough to grow one of these beauties – I’ve always loved the fresh scent (especially after the rain) but I also have a purely sentimental reason now – I might even share it with you one day.

As these trees put down an incredible long, strong tap root, it’s futile to try growing one in a pot and potting it up until we have somewhere to plant it, no, I’m afraid I can’t lay my hands on one until I have a hole in the ground for it!

This entry was posted in gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

