The great tomato chase

Before Christmas I was tempted by the stall selling tomato seedlings at the Flemington farmers market and found myself walking out with 3 different varieties of cherry tomatoes.

When I brought them home they were no taller than 20 cm each and now, even in our south facing courtyard with minimal sun they are thriving and are nearly taller than me!

I’ve been keenly watching flowers and then fruit develop on each plant and so has my son – one day when there were no strawberries to find he resorted to my largest green tomato, needless to say after one bite he hurled the whole thing across the garden in disgust!

Here’s my first tomato update, so far it looks like Cherry Roma is in the lead…

Cherry Roma

Snow White

 

green grape

Green Grape

This entry was posted in gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

